NNI recipients of the Public Administration Medal (Bronze) - Assoc Prof Kevin Tan, Prof Louis Tan, Assoc Prof Seow Wan Tew, Assoc Prof Sitoh Yih Yian (left to right).

Fourteen NNI staff have received National Day Awards 2023 for their commitment and contributions to Singapore’s public healthcare system. 

The Public Administration Medal (Bronze)
Awarded for outstanding efficiency and competence

Assoc Prof Kevin Tan, Education Director and Senior Consultant, Department of Neurology NNI’s programme lead for neuroimmunology which manages multiple sclerosis, myasthenia gravis and other neurological autoimmune disorders. is a trailblazer in the field of neuroimmunology. During the recent COVID-19 and H1N1 pandemic in 2009, the Ministry of Health and Health Sciences Authority looked to Assoc Prof Tan for his expertise on the links between infectious viruses, vaccinations and neurological conditions. As NNI’s Education Director, Assoc Prof Tan has transformed the learning landscape, continuously searching for ways to upskill healthcare professionals through new pedagogies, partnerships with academic institutions and encouraging cross-learning between different healthcare professionals. For his steadfast commitment to public healthcare, Assoc Prof Tan is also receiving the Long Service Medal.

Prof Louis Tan, Research Director and Senior Consultant, Department of Neurology has been leading the Parkinson Disease and Movement Disorders Programme at NNI for 20 years. To improve efficiency and convenience to patients, Prof Tan extended care beyond the hospital walls through partnerships with community health services. For example, the Community Care Partners Programme (CCPP) set up in 2007 equips partners with knowledge on caring for patients with movement disorders. The network has grown over the years and been extended to NNI patients living with other advanced neurodegenerative conditions. Outside of work, Prof Tan dedicates his time to charities such as the Parkinson Society Singapore, serving as President since 2019. 

Assoc Prof Seow Wan Tew, Chief Risk Officer, Chief Medical Informatics Officer and Senior Consultant, Department of Neurosurgery is a pioneer in paediatric neurosurgery. Appointed Head of Neurosurgical Service when KK Women’s & Children’s Hospital first opened in 1997, Assoc Prof Seow was the only paediatric neurosurgeon providing 24 hour on-call duties most days of the week, for close to a decade. An innovator at heart, Assoc Prof Seow was one of the first in Asia to introduce new treatments for conditions such as paediatric hydrocephalus, brain and spinal cord tumours, reducing post-operative complications and improving outcomes. Beyond his clinical duties, Assoc Prof Seow also served as the Deputy Medical Director (Academic Affairs) and Head of Neurosurgery, NNI@TTSH Campus. 

Assoc Prof Sitoh Yih Yian, Senior Consultant, Department of Neuroradiology played a critical role in improving the quality management framework and developing the field of Neuroradiology. While Deputy Medical Director (Medical Affairs & Quality Management), Assoc Prof Sitoh developed new processes for medicolegal standards and clinical governance across all six NNI campuses and partner hospitals. While Head of Department, Neuroradiology, NNI@TTSH Campus, Assoc Prof Sitoh harmonised neuroradiology protocols nationally, based on new frameworks he had established for NNI to improve patient safety, such as implementing protocols for novel Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) conditional pacemakers and devices. 

Commendation Medal
Awarded to those who have distinguished himself/herself through commendable performance and conduct, or significant efficiency, competence and devotion to duty.
  • Mr Kelvin Chiew, Assistant Director, Clinical Support Operations
  • Assoc Prof Zeng Li, Assistant Director, Research (Research Programme)

Efficiency Medal
Awarded to those who displayed exceptional efficiency or exceptional devotion to duty or for work of special significance.
  • Mr Hong Tshun Vun, Principal Radiographer, Neuroradiology
  • Mdm Ng Shi Yun, Manager, Research
  • Ms Oh Hui Ping, Senior Principal Radiographer, Neuroradiology
  • Ms Phua Ziqun, Principal Sonographer, Neurodiagnostic Laboratory
  • Ms Tiang Wan Jing, Senior Executive, Human Resource

Long Service Medal (at least 25 years of service)
Awarded to those who are of irreproachable character and have completed at least 25 years of service.
  • Ms Chan Wai Yee, Nurse Clinician, Nursing
  • Ms Emily Ang, Nurse Clinician, Nursing
  • Assoc Prof Kevin Tan, Education Director and Senior Consultant, Neurology
  • Dr See Siew Ju, Senior Consultant, Neurology

Congratulations to all our NNI recipients and thank you for your support and service to Singapore!