Singapore, 14 January 2020 – The Singapore Health Quality Service Awards was held today at the University Cultural Centre, National University of Singapore. Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Finance, Mr Heng Swee Keat, who was the Guest-of-Honour, presented 4,295 Silver, Gold, Star and Superstar awards to healthcare professionals from 43 public and private healthcare institutions, community hospitals and agencies from the Intermediate and Long-Term Care (ILTC) sector.

In its 10th year, the annual Awards organised by the SingHealth Duke-NUS Academic Medical Centre since 2011 is Singapore’s first dedicated platform to honour outstanding healthcare professionals who have delivered quality care and service to patients. This year’s Awards saw a record number of winners as well as participating organisations from the ILTC sector with new entrants including St Andrew’s Senior Care, St Andrew’s Nursing Home, Bright Hill Evergreen Home and Alzheimer’s Disease Association.

Of the awards presented, there were 3,243 awards in the Silver category, 778 in the Gold category, 261 in the Star category and 9 Superstar awards presented to the top winners from the Clinician, Nursing, Allied Health, Administration, Ancillary and ILTC categories. 

Award recipients were selected based on stringent criteria including testimonials of acts that go the extra mile from patients and colleagues as well as the number of compliments and service awards received.

Best Team awards were presented to recognise outstanding efforts that improve patient experience and safety in the Clinical Practice and Patient Experience categories.