Singapore, 30 January 2018 – The annual Singapore Health Quality Service Awards 2018 held today at the MES Theatre at MediaCorp honoured 3,582 healthcare professionals from 30 public and private healthcare institutions. The Awards were presented by Mr Gan Kim Yong, Minister for Health. Organised by SingHealth Duke-NUS Academic Medical Centre since 2011, the nationwide award is Singapore’s first dedicated platform to honour healthcare professionals who have delivered quality care and excellent service to patients. 

Of the 3,582 awards presented, 2,619 awards were in the Silver category, 701 in the Gold category and 262 in the Star category. 

Eight Superstar awards were presented to the top winners from the Clinician, Nursing, Allied Health, Administration, Ancillary and Intermediate and Long Term Care (ILTC) categories. Best Team awards were also presented to multidisciplinary teams for their outstanding efforts to improve patient experience and safety.

Superstar Winners
Clinician Category
Dr Chan Yew Meng
Senior Consultant, Department of Otolaryngology
Singapore General Hospital

Nursing Category
Mdm Teo Poh Tin, Tina
Senior Nurse Manager, Cardiac Catheterisation Laboratory
National Heart Centre Singapore

Allied Health Category
Ms Lee Hong Rui
Principal Occupational Therapist, Department of Occupational Therapy 
Singapore General Hospital

Administration Category
Mr Liang Dianhui
Senior Executive, Facilities Management & Engineering  
Singapore General Hospital

Ancillary Category
Ms Rossnani Bte Abdullah
Senior Patient Relations Associate Executive, Clinic Operations - SOC C 
National Cancer Centre Singapore

Intermediate and Long-Term Care Sector

Nursing Category
Ms Lingaraj Prabha
Nurse Manager, Ward 13
Ren Ci Community Hospital

Allied Health Category
Ms Gelena Giselle Anandarajah
Senior Occupational Therapist, Therapy Services
Ang Mo Kio – Thye Hua Kwan Hospital

Administration Category
Mr Mohamad Sharil Bin Abdul Rahim
Executive, Volunteer Management – Allied Health Department
Ang Mo Kio – Thye Hua Kwan Hospital

Best Team Winners

Clinical Practice Improvement

Project title: SGH Multidisciplinary Burn Centre Protocol
Team name: SGH Burn Management Team
Institution: Singapore General Hospital

Project title: Prevention of Catheter-associated Urinary Tract Infection (CAUTI) in a Community Hospital in Singapore
Team name: CAUTI Eliminators
Institution: Ang Mo Kio – Thye Hua Kwan Hospital

Service Initiative Improvement

Project title: Discharge Lounge (DL) @ CGH
Team name: CGH Discharge Lounge Care Team
Institutions: Changi General Hospital

Project title: Frequent delay in discharges which are avoidable in Ward 13 and poor NOK satisfaction in communication which can be improved
Team name: Lean and Design Project Team
Institutions: Ren Ci Community Hospital