Congratulations to the five winners of the Transition Award (TA), who are Dr Grace Yang (NCCS), Dr Shirin Kalimuddin (SGH), Dr Ryan Man (SNEC), Dr Lee Jan Hau (KKH) and Dr Kelvin Teo (SNEC); and the four winners of the Clinician Scientist Award (first award for the Investigator category) for the NMRC 2019 grant calls, who are Dr Lim Chwee Ming (SGH), Dr Andrea Low (SGH), Dr Danny Cheung (SNEC) and Dr Derrick Chan (KKH)!

Although they come from diverse specialties across a few SingHealth institutions, and have had different journeys in their research endeavours, the winners concur in their commitment and pursuit of excellence to continually improve patient care through discovery of knowledge and innovations.

Their achievements were celebrated on Friday, 7 August 2020, at a special Zoom event organised by Prof Koh Woon Puay, Director of the Duke-NUS' Centre for Clinician-Scientist Development (CCSD), and her team, including Prof Wang Jie Jin, Deputy Director of CCSD, whose ACE-In-Grant intensive mentorship programme boosted the success of most of this year's winners.

Although this is the third year CCSD hosted this annual event, the COVID-19 pandemic had precluded the celebration over a lunch in a restaurant, which was done last year. Instead, this year’s event was turned into an one-hour online event, with each winner taking turns to share his or her research journey. As with previous years, a roster of special guests also attended the event, to congratulate and share their 'pearls of wisdom' with the winning cohort. These included Dean Thomas Coffman, Senior Vice Dean Patrick Casey, Vice Dean Wong Tien Yin, and Prof Pierce Chow (President of the College of Clinician-Scientists). In addition, a gift was also delivered in advance to each winner.

Once again, our heartiest congratulations to the winners -- we salute you for helping to keep the SingHealth Duke-NUS Academic Medical Centre at the forefront of ground-breaking research and innovation!